Museum of Concrete Art
Composition of advance and tradition Ingolstadtâ€™s Museum of Concrete Art is Germanyâ€™s only museum specialised exclusively in Concrete Art. Its 1000 sq. exhibition area and the neighbouring sculpture garden feature works by this art movementâ€™s most significant proponents dating back to its beginnings. Bought by the city of Ingolstadt in 1981, the Gomringer collection is the museumâ€™s core exhibit. To supplement it, more objects have since been bought and borrowed. In 1992, the museum opened in a former barracks building erected in the 18th century and refurbished in an award-winning project. The collection comprises the works of Josef Albers, Max Bill, Richard Paul Lohse, Victor Vasarely, FranĂ§ois Morellet and Jesus Rafael Soto, among others. Alongside its extensive collection, the Museum of Concrete Art regularly shows changing exhibitions. They showcase the full gamut of Concrete Art, as well as developments in design related to concrete art by virtue of their formative principles.
The successful result of a joint effort of the Alf Lechner foundation and the city of Ingolstadt, the Lechner Museum opened its doors in 2000. Preserving the buildingâ€™s industrial structure the former Audi AG workshop was transformed into a functional museum flooded with light. Its streamlined simplicity is in perfect harmony with Lechnerâ€™s artistic principles. Time and again, changing exhibitions highlight new facets of the distinguished steel sculptorâ€™s work. Alongside diverse sculptural works, individual exhibitions also showcase the sculptorâ€™s sketches and autonomous graphical artworks. Alf Lechner attaches great value to engaging other artists in a dialogue. Regularly he invites fellow artists to take part in a joint exhibition project.
Asam's Maria de Victoria Church
The baroque jewel lacking a forecourt and towers, the baroque church of Maria de Victoria is sited somewhat secluded in the Old Town, but a look into its interior reveals its full glory. Two precious art treasures adorn this jewel, built from 1732 to 1736 as an oratorio of the Marian student congregation. Painted by Bavariaâ€™s most celebrated baroque artist Cosmas
Damian Asam, at the height of his powers, the frescoâ€™s theme is the Lordâ€™s incarnation. Measuring 42 x 16 m, it is the worldâ€™s largest fresco on a flat ceiling. The best way to appreciate this masterly achievement in perspective is to walk around the auditorium. The Lepanto Monstrance Another treasure, the Lepanto Monstrance was finished in 1708. The filigree work of art in gold and silver graces the treasury. Portraying the Christiansâ€™ naval victory over the Turks at Lepanto, it is a unique battle representation on the worldâ€™s most valuable monstrance.
Asamkirche Maria de Victoria
NeubaustraĂźe 1 1/2
Tel. +49 841 305-1830 or -1831
|November - February|
|Tue. - Sun.||1:00 p.m. - 4:00 p.m. and by arrangement|
|March - Oktober|
|Tue. - Sun.||09:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. and 12:30 p.m. - 5:00 p.m.|
|May - September||also open on Mondays|
|Closed||Shrove Tuesday, Good Friday, 01.11., 24./25./31.12., 01.01.|
FleiĂźer Dokumentation site
An exhibition in appreciation of the life and work of Ingolstadt writer Marieluise FleiĂźer (1901 - 1974) is on display in her parentsâ€™ house. Visitors can trace FleiĂźerâ€™s eventful life in the many exhibits and view a historic Ingolstadt burgher house and forge. This documentation site offers guided tours twice a year as well as an educational programme for students, available on request. The annual programme lists many other events such as readings and changing exhibitions.
The Fleisser Documentation site remains closed until 2016.
The Heinrich Stiefel Schulmuseum is a very special museum. it is situated in the middle of a living school and the pupils are involved in designing and running it. Exhibits depict the history of the school. Exhibits highlighted in the collection include collections on the development of writing and arithmetic, pedagogy in the days of the Kaiser and National Socialism, as well as on the first day of school.
BrĂĽckenkopf 1 / building D
Tel.: +49 841 96691-0
Fax: +49 841 96691-20